Chiles, Sagu Lead PASL Awards

Date: Mar 04, 2013
Bookmark and Share
Chiles, Sagu Lead PASL Awards

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Chiles, Sagu Lead PASL Awards

3/5/13  -  The Professional Arena Soccer League today announced its annual All-League, MVP, and Coach of the Year Awards.  San Diego Sockers forward Kraig Chiles was a near unanimous First Team selection and nabbed his third straight MVP Award.

Dallas Sidekicks goalkeeper Sagu was second in All-League voting and second in the MVP voting. Joining Chiles and Sagu on the All-League First Team were Sockers midfielder Brian Farber, and Chicago Mustangs rookie forward Nestor Hernandez.  Detroit Waza defender Costea Decu and Las Vegas Legends d-man Eric Guzman rounded out the First Team.

The All-League Second Team was led by Sockers forward Aaron Susi.  Turlock Express newcomer Ivan Campos and Legends forward Enrique Tovar, Sidekicks defender Kiley Couch, Rio Grande Valley Flash defender Damian Garcia, and Waza rookie goalkeeper Joey Kapinos completed the Second Team.

Chiles and Farber, the 2008/09 PASL MVP, earned their third trips to the First Team and their fourth All-League selections.  Decu made his second First Team appearance amongst three All-League honors. Susi made his second All-League outing.

The PASL doesn't have a Goalkeeper of the Year Award, but Sagu's First Team honor serves as his 7th time being named as a league's top netminder.  Sagu went 11-2 for Dallas with a league-best 3.56 GAA.

Chiles topped his personal bests while rewriting the PASL record book with 56 goals and 72 points, leading the Sockers to a 15-1 record.

Sidekicks coach Tatu narrowly beat out the Legends Greg Howes to win the league's Coach of the Year Award.  Tatu led the Sidekicks to a 13-3 record in their first year in the PASL.  Tatu was the WISL Coach of the Year with the Sidekicks in 1998.

The chase for the Ron Newman Cup resumes Sunday with a semifinal doubleheader in San Diego, followed by the championship on Monday.

2012-13 PASL All-League First Team
F - Kraig Chiles, San Diego
F - Nestor Hernandez, Chicago
M - Brian Farber, San Diego
D - Costea Decu, Detroit
D - Eric Guzman, Las Vegas
GK - Sagu, Dallas

2012-13 PASL All-League Second Team
F - Aaron Susi, San Diego
F - Enrique Tovar, Las Vegas
F - Ivan Campos, Turlock
D - Kiley Couch, Dallas
D - Damian Garcia, Rio Grande Valley
GK - Joey Kapinos, Detroit

2012-13 PASL Most Valuable Player
Kraig Chiles, San Diego

2012-13 PASL Coach of the Year
Tatu, Dallas 
PASL Headlines
Waza Flo wins arena soccer's U.S. Open Cup - PASL Detroit News (March 4)
Detroit Waza Flo capture US Open Arena Soccer title, defeating San Diego Sockers, 7-6 - PASL MLive (March 4)
Waza Flo wins arena soccer's U.S. Open Cup - PASL Detroit News (March 4)
Turlock's Bronil Koochoie continues his climb through the soccer ranks - PASL Turlock Journal (March 2)
Detroit Waza Flo hosts US Open Arena Soccer Championship game on Saturday (video) - PASL MLive (March 2)
Local arena soccer team Waza Flo goes for the Cup - PASL Detroit News (March 2)
Waza Flo to host legendary Sockers - PASL Canton Observer-Eccentric (March 2)
RGV Capsules: Flores leads Flash to semifinals - PASLBrownsville Herald (March 1)
Local arena soccer team Waza Flo goes for the Cup - PASL Detroit News (March 1)
Flash douse Sidekicks thunder, capture playoff series - PASL Allen American (March 1)
PASL playoffs: Detroit Waza Flo wins nailbiter to advance to Ron Newman Cup semifinals - PASL MLive (February 28)
Waza Flo to host legendary Sockers - PASL Observer & Eccentric (February 28)
INDOOR SOCCER: Detroit Waza Flo looking for recognition - PASL News-Herald (February 28)
Waza Flo to host legendary Sockers - PASL Canton Observer-Eccentric (February 28)
Meet Detroit Waza Flo - PASL Fox Detroit (February 28)
Sidekicks continue perfect record at home as focus shifts to playoffs - PASL Allen American (February 27) 
About Professional Arena Soccer League and Premier Arena Soccer League 
The PASL is a professional league which began play on October 25, 2008.  The league, entering its fifth season, consists of US teams, the CMISL (Canada), and the LMFR (Mexico).  The Dallas Sidekicks, Harrisburg Heat, Las Vegas Legends, Rockford Rampage, Sacramento Surge, Real Phoenix, Chicago Mustangs, Texas Strikers, and Rio Grande Valley Flash have been added for the 2012/13 season.  The Tulsa Revolution have been added for the 2013/14 season.  The PASL-Premier is enjoying its 15th season as the nation's top amateur arena soccer league.  The PASL and PASL-Premier are members of Federacion Internacional de Futbol Rapido (FIFRA).

Click here to go back to news articles